One LSU Tiger Will Join Elite Company on ‘Super Sunday’

Geaux Nation

The Vince Lombardi Trophy is seen before a news conference by Commissioner Roger Goodell in advance of the Super Bowl 52 football game, Wednesday, Jan. 31, 2018, in Minneapolis. The Philadelphia Eagles play the New England Patriots on Sunday, Feb. 4, 2018. (AP Photo/Matt Slocum)

Thirteen former LSU football players have won both a national title and Super Bowl. That number is guaranteed to grow by one on Sunday when either Ricky Jean Francois or Donnie Jones win the Super Bowl and join this elite group.

Jean Francois and Jones join Jalen Mills as LSU’s Super Bowl participants this year. Jean Francois plays on the defensive line for the Patriots, while Jones and Mills are both starters for the Eagles. Kickoff for Super Bowl LII at 5:30 p.m. CT on Sunday in Minneapolis.

Jones served as LSU’s punter for the Tiger team that beat Oklahoma, 21-14, to claim the BCS National Championship in 2003.

Jean Francois, a defensive tackle for the New England Patriots, earned defensive most valuable player honors for his performance in LSU’s 38-24 win over Ohio State in the BCS Championship Game in 2007.

Currently, eight players from LSU’s 2003 national title team went on to capture a Super Bowl title, while five members of the 2007 squad won a Super Bowl during their NFL career.

The following is a list of former Tigers that won both a national title in college as well as a Super Bowl:

Player                                   Year of BCS Title             Year(s) of Super Bowl Title, Team

Joseph Addai                                2003                            2007, Indianapolis Colts

Eric Alexander                              2003                            2005, New England Patriots

Michael Clayton                            2003                           2012, New York Giants (Injured reserve)

Marlon Favorite                            2007                           2010, New Orleans Saints (Practice squad)

Matt Flynn                                    2007                           2011, Green Bay Packers

Randall Gay                                 2003                           2005, New England Patriots; 2010 New                                                                                                                Orleans Saints  

Devery Henderson                      2003                            2010, New Orleans Saints

Marquise Hill                               2003                            2005, New England Patriots

Quinn Johnson                            2007                            2011, Green Bay Packers

Brandon LaFell                            2007                            2015, New England Patriots

Stevan Ridley                              2007                            2015, New England Patriots (Injured reserve)

Justin Vincent                              2003                            2009, Pittsburgh Steelers (Practice squad)

Corey Webster                            2003                             2008, 2012 New York Giants

(Press Release Provided by LSU Athletics)

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.