Lt. Gov. Dardenne Appoints Ancient Mounds Commission

Local News

Lt. Governor Jay Dardenne has re-established the Ancient Mounds Heritage Area and Trails Advisory Commission in light of the inscription of Poverty Point as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2014.

New commissioners have been appointed and will work together to protect the site, develop it as a tourism destination, foster archeological research and facilitate community-based planning for successful economic development opportunities.

Members of the Ancient Mounds Heritage Area and Trails Advisory Commission are:

– Cathy Berry, Office of Lt. Governor, Baton Rouge

– Phil Boggan, Office of Cultural Development, Baton Rouge

– Dwight Landreneau, Office of State Parks, Baton Rouge

– Kyle Edmiston, Office of Tourism, Baton Rouge

– Dr. Diana Greenlee, Poverty Point World Heritage Site and UL-Monroe, Epps

– Dr. Gary Stringer, Advocates for Poverty Point and UL-Monroe, Monroe

– Tana Trichel (chair), Northeast Louisiana Economic Alliance, Winnsboro

– Eddie Russell, West Carroll Parish Police Jury, Monroe

– John Barbry, Tunica-Biloxi Tribe, Marksville

– Dr. Guthrie Jarrell, Poverty Point, Epps

Each commissioner has played an important role in the achievements of Poverty Point World Heritage Site and Louisiana archaeology.

The Commission will contribute to the conservation and continued success of the site and the other invaluable cultural resources Louisiana has to offer.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Coronavirus Headlines

More Coronavirus