LSU College of Agriculture brings donors, recipients together for awards ceremony

Local News
LSU College of Agriculture Ceremony_1449271511785.PNG

Nearly 100 LSU College of Agriculture students were recognized for their academic achievement at the college’s Honors Convocation on Nov. 19 at the LSU Club at Union Square.

The convocation also served as an opportunity for donors to meet the recipients of their scholarship.

Clay and Kathy Smilie, donors of the Joseph L. and Estell W. Smilie Memorial Scholarship, were excited to meet Peyton Beattie, the scholarship recipient.

Clay Smilie said, “We knew her name, but I think it’s wonderful to have the opportunity to meet and talk with her.  This makes the scholarship real for us.”

Beattie is a senior from Houma studying agricultural education. She told the Smilies how this scholarship will
help her next semester while she does student teaching at Walker High School.

Beattie said, “Student teaching is an unpaid job, so this means life to me for the next semester.”

Clay Smilie’s parents, after whom the scholarship is named, believed in the importance of education, and
agriculture was Joseph Smilie’s passion.

Clay Smilie said his father spent 32 years with the Louisiana Cooperative Extension Service as an agricultural engineer, traveling the state and the world improving agriculture and education.

Beattie was fascinated to hear about the elder Smilie’s life and career, which included three years teaching in

Malaysia, two years in Jamaica and shorter assignments in West Africa.

Beattie told the Smilies about her first time traveling abroad this year when she went to Nicaragua with an
international experience in agriculture program.

Kathy Smilie said, “We can see his parents’ legacy carried on by the students through this scholarship.”

Bill Richardson, dean of the LSU College of Agriculture and LSU vice president for agriculture, said the College of Agriculture is proud to recognize outstanding students and to bring together donors and scholarship recipients.

Richardson said, “With donor generosity, we were able to present nearly $100,000 in cash awards.”

Scholarship recipients for the 2015-2016 school year are listed below. All are from Louisiana unless otherwise indicated.

Agriculture Alumni Association Scholarship: Kalyn Bennett, Bush; Cicely Dupre, Port Barre; Olivia Geels,
Bentonville, Arkansas; Bailey Hutchison, New Orleans; Hannah Johnson, Prairieville; Allison Sommers, Houston, Texas; Averi Young, Saint Francisville.

Agriculture Development Council Scholarship: Sarah Ainsworth, Baton Rouge; Maria Bagnoli, Orlando, Florida; Sarah Genest, New Iberia.

BASF Scholarship: Jazmyn Bernard, Lake Charles.

Bernell Newman Scholarship: Trent Dugas, Saint Martinville.

Blanche and Dennis McCloskey Scholarship: Jessi Pierce, Houma.

Brodie Pugh Scholarship – Ashley Berluchaux, Kenner.

C.W. Causey Scholarship: Jessica Taylor, Oak Ridge.

Charlotte Robertson Scholarship: Laynie Arceneaux, Convent.

David B. Means Memorial Endowed Scholarship: Kristen Boquet, Winnsboro; Nicole Cutrer, Amite; Jake
Gaspard, Lafayette; John Hill, Stone Mountain, Georgia; Rebecca Krueger, Houston, Texas; Jensen Liljeberg,
Metairie; Maria Musso, New Iberia; Anna West, Leesville.

Dean Kenneth Koonce Scholarship: Nicholas Adams, Gheens.

Dean Lee Scholarship: Ashleigh Piazza, Vicksburg, Mississippi.

Dean’s Council Scholarship: Logan Duplessis, Springfield; Claire Loupe, Denham Spring; Brandon Stafford,
Franklinton; Randi Toups, Thibodaux.

Deep South Farm Credit Scholarship: Keisha Marceaux, Kaplan.

E.M. Barham Scholarship: Emily Cressoine, Houma.

First South Farm Credit Scholarship: Samantha Lanjewar, Valhalla, New York.

George Fasting Scholarship: Elizabeth Dwyer, Abita Springs.

Greater Baton Rouge State Fair Scholarship: Adam Barrilleaux, Saint Gabriel.

Horace Davis: Elise Friend, New Orleans; LaTontiana Harris, La Place; Lena Kelly, Duson: Morgan Philips,

J.B. Frye Scholarship: Morgan Richard, Elton.

James and Edna Trott Scholarship: Bryson Beasley, Denham Springs; Trent Dugas, Saint Martinville.

James D. Graugnard Scholarship: Mary LeGrange, Clinton; Lauren Morgan, Amite; Keirah Soper, Tickfaw;
Christen Wall, Holden.

John W. Melton Scholarship: Josie Cormier, Monroe.

Joseph and Estell Smilie Memorial Scholarship: Peyton Beattie, Houma.

Jules P. Bordelon Scholarship: Joseph Danigole, Slidell.

Louisiana County Agents 4-H Scholarship: Peyton Arthur, Florien.

Louisiana Sugarcane Technologists Scholarship: Keisha Marceaux, Kaplan.

Lee Berwick Scholarship: Jason Dargan, Englewood, New Jersey; Bailey Jones, Belle Chasse; Cameron Roig,

Gonzales; Brandon Thibodaux, Houma.

Louisiana Seedmen’s Scholarship: Joseph Woodard, Baton Rouge.

Louisiana Sugarcane Technologists Scholarship: Caroline Blanchard, Baton Rouge; Madeline LeBlanc, Sunshine; Ashleigh Piazza, Vicksburg, Mississippi; Anna Ribbeck, Mandeville.

Mac Kasaoka Scholarship: Jeremiah Allee, Saint Amant; Emma Brasher, Houston, Texas; David Cambre, Holden; Courtney Cornett; French Settlement; Sarah Davis, Elton; Griffin Dorr, Crowley; Mary Duet, Covington;
Madelyne Easley, Walker; Brittany Francisco, Denham Springs; Trista Galivan, Franklinton; Savannah Lagasse, Bossier City; Baylee Louviere, Delcambre; Lia Nicotra, Spring, Texas; Fallon Ross, Bowie, Maryland; Daniela Sherwood, Gretna; Brooklyne Smith, Kenner; Caroline Velasquez, Baton Rouge.

Mondart Scholarship: Adam Barrilleaux, Saint Gabriel; Connor Crain, Bogalusa; Trent Dugas, Saint Martinville;
Morgan Richard, Elton; Russ Sonnier, Jennings.

Dr. Ruth M. Patrick and Mrs. Dorothy Scott Moschette Scholarship: Hannah Haddad, Mandeville; Victoria
Klibert, Kenner.

Shelby Robert Scholarship: Gabrielle Gonzalez, Gretna.

Sybil and Joseph Dore Scholarship: Bianca Jones, Natchitoches; Bernard Laviolette; Saint Martinville; Tate
Roussel, Norco.

Tiger Athletic Foundation Scholarship: Tara Baker, Delcambre; James Baumgardner, Greenville, South Carolina; Dana Bryant, Forest, Virginia; Alexander Haun, Baton Rouge; Kendall Haygood, West Monroe; Savannah McCorkle, Long Beach, California; Colette Pansini, McKinney, Texas; Ysabella Ramirez, Metairie; Sabrina Schenk, Slidell; Madison Sharp, Cropwell, Alabama; Eric Wharton, Baton Rouge.

Warren and Joyce Meadows Scholarship: Zachary Davis, Lacombe.

Penelope W. and E. Roe Stamps IV Leadership Scholars Award: Casey Kenny, Walden, New York.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.